Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

PEPOSO NOTTURNO TUSCANO

So, I made the Peposo Notturno via Bill Buford. I have a feeling the beef shanks he gets are much larger than the ones I get here at my local Market Basket. He said he uses two shanks along with four Tablespoons of black pepper, a Tablespoon of salt, a head of garlic and a bottle of wine. That’s it.  No browning, stock, veggies, pancetta, etc. OK, I did all of that, including removing the bone, marrow and a lot of the connective tissue. As I put it in the oven, I was thinking, “That looks like a lot of ‘stuff’ for so little meat’.  Oh, well – bring it up to a simmer on the stove and into an oven at 200 degrees for 12 hours.

Pepposo3

 

It was too much stuff.  The next time I make this, I will be sure to have at least 2 1/2 to 3 pounds of meat, not just two shanks, trimmed.  The pepper and wine were overpowering, but you could tell they would be wonderful with a bit more (OK, twice as much) beef to slow cook for 12 hours.  Oh, I will do this again….look for the post!

 

Pepposo2

April 7, 2014 Posted by | Random Blather | Leave a comment