Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

BLT STUFFED TOMATOES AND POLENTA

OK, so I tried some BLT recipes,  I was thinking about a BLT stuffed tomato – I mean, how could that be bad?  Well, it wasn’t, that’s for sure, but maybe it needed a bit more umph than I added.  I cut off the top of five tomatoes and scooped out the guts.  I then squeezed the guts to get as much juice as possible and then strained the mix to just have the juice.  The last time I added this to the stuffed tomato mixture, it made it too wet and the stuffing was like cement.  So, I reduced it down over medium heat until it was just half of what I started with.  I had some day old rosemary bread I made into bread crumbs, mixed them with the tomato juice and a bit of olive oil.  Oh, I had also cooked up 1/3 pound of bacon and chopped it into small pieces – that was added also.  I then stuffed the tomatoes with the bacon/bread mixture.

I also made polenta – Corn meal cooked in water for hours.  So good…..I added Parmesan cheese and salt at the end and it was just corny yummyness.  Of course, my family hated it – their loss.  Add some roasted chicken legs and this is what it all looked like

Image

Yeah, it was great.  I made a sauce of caramelized onions, sweet vinegar and reduced chicken stock.

Tomorrow – BLT salad with a bacon mayo dressing!

March 30, 2014 - Posted by | Side Dish, Vegetables

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

