Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

EGGS

Lurking around some of my friend’s blogs, I discovered one of them had a picture of a half-dozen eggs from a local farm.  I then remembered I had just received two dozen of the best eggs in the world!  My parents, three hours away in the hills of Western Massachusetts, have access to the very best eggs I have ever had.  Coming from the small flock (group? gaggle? school?) of chickens from the mysterious “Heidi”, these eggs are….oh, boy….they’re….they’re just really good!  The yolks are a rich, deep orange – nothing like the pale yellow eggs you buy in the supermarket.  And the flavor!

Search out fresh eggs – sure, some will be brown, some will be white and some will be pale blue, maybe even green.  Also, some will be HUGE, some will be small and some will be just like Baby Bear’s – just right.  But, they will also be better and more likely than not, not coming from tortured chickens (where’s Eric Holder when we REALLY need him, huh?)

eggs

August 26, 2009 - Posted by | Random Blather

2 Comments »

  1. One of my coworkers has chickens, and I get my eggs from her. The size and color vary a lot – but the quality is incredible. At $2.50 a dozen, I feel lucky to have her nearby.

    Comment by Deborah | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Mike, just catching up on a bit of blog reading. I’m so glad you found a source for fresh farm eggs. You should now go pull out MtAoFC and use some for creme caramel 😉

    Comment by breadchick | September 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

