Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

BBQ SAUCE

The word barbecue means something different to me than it does to most people in New England.  I won’t go into the whole story again, I’ll let this post do it for me.  Therefore, I won’t refer to the sauce I made today as barbecue sauce, because it’s too sweet and would never be served anywhere near real North Carolina barbecue.  No, what I made today was BBQ sauce and it’s damn fine!

For ribs, pork chops, burgers and chicken, I love a good ole’ sweet, happy BBQ sauce.   My mom makes a good one, but I couldn’t remember what exactly went into it, so, when I needed one a few months ago, I searched for a new one.  I came across a BBQ sauce from the Food Network’s own Pat Neely.  Now, I have never really liked Down Home with The Neely’s.  I just can’t get into it – maybe it’s because it reminds me too much of Paula Deen and she drives me nuts!  That being said, the sauce looked good and after I was done, it tasted really, really good!  It’s sweet and has a great black pepper bite!  I really like it.  I’ve found if you cut down on the sugar a bit, it’s fantastic!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups ketchup
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 5 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 5 tablespoons sugar (I use 3 more tablespoons of brown sugar)
  • 1/2 tablespoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground mustard
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Directions

In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat to simmer. Cook uncovered, stirring frequently, for 1 hour 15 minutes.

Before the cooking:

 

BBQ1  

After:

BBQ2

August 1, 2009 - Posted by | Random Blather

1 Comment »

  1. Love the new look, keep up the great work the number of visitors must have increased?.

    Comment by alfresco | August 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

