Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

TOMATOES

Back at the end of August I posted about canning tomatoes.  I did 16 jars that weekend and another 12 or so I think the a few weeks after, I’m pretty sure I ended up with 28 or so jars.  I commented that it seemed like a lot of work, but I was going to enjoy them during the winter.

And so I have.

Just the other night, I opened one of my last four jars to make Fannie’s Salsa and was blown away how incredible it was to have nearly fresh tomatoes in the middle of March.  Each year, I can more and more and I can’t encourage it enough for everyone with access to fresh veggies in the fall to can and pickle for the winter.

BTW, if you followed the Salsa link, you will see Clearblogs is back from the dead again – for how long, we will see.

March 14, 2009 - Posted by | Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

