Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

CHICKEN STOCK

Stock.

I always make my own chicken stock.  Beef stock? Not so much.  I still haven’t had the best luck with that and that’s because I can’t get beef neck bones.  At least, that’s what I believe.  I really need to go to a cooking school class for this, seriously.

Chicken, I’ve got.  I make a great roasted chicken stock.  And I think you can, too.  I haven’t purchased chicken stock from a store in years.  I make a roast chicken nearly every Sunday because, heck why not?  It’s good and if you watch the flyers, it’s cheap and everyone likes it.  PLUS, you get a chicken carcass, perfect for stock.  If you’re not ready to make stock, you can freeze them for later.

CHICKEN STOCK

  • A couple of chicken carcasses, maybe two or three
  • Two medium onion, peeled and quartered
  • One large carrot, peeled and cut into quarters
  • One large celery stalk, quartered
  • A bundle of parsley stems, 6-7 black peppercorns, a bunch of thyme and a bay leaf or two, all tied in a cheesecloth bag.  (Or loose, I’ve done that with no problem)

Put everything in a stock pot and push the bones down to not have too much empty space.  Fill with water to cover 2 or 3 inches over the bones.  Bring to a bare simmer on the stove and skim any yucky stuff off.  Set into a 190 degree oven and cook for 4-8 hours.  Remove and skim or cool until a fat raft forms and remove raft. 

cstock1

I then freeze it in straight sided pint Bell jars until ready for use.

This is so much better than what you buy in the store.  It doesn’t take that much work, but it does make some great stock.  Often, you can use it in place of beef stock, so your stock buying goes down that much more.

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | Recipe

2 Comments »

  1. This is different from any other stock recipe I’ve ever seen. Cooking stock in the oven! I have never made a good stock. Ever.

    Comment by Sara | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sara – that’s a Michael Ruhlman invention and it takes all of the guess work and babysitiing of keeping it at a bare simmer. Genius. You will make a good stock with this and it is practically free!

    Comment by Mike | March 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

