Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

THAT COOKBOOK THING II

Well, That Cookbook Thing II soldiers on and this time we attacked the king of all meats – the beef filet.  The recipe chosen was a classic amongst classics – Tournedos Sautés Chasseur or Filet Steaks with Mushroom and Madeira Sauce.

Now, I don’t have a friendly butcher I can go to and get a tournedo cut of the fillet.  The comes from the smaller end of a fillet, about a quarter up from the small end or the filet mignon.  I’m just happy to get any cut from the filet, so I’m not sure I made a true Tournedo Sautés Chasseur, but I do know I made a fine steak.

TOURNEDOS SAUTES CHASSEUR

  • 6 crustless rounds of white bread, 2 ½ inches in diameter and 3/16 thick
  • 3 to 4 Tbls. of clarified butter (ok, I used plain butter)

Sauté bread rounds in the hot butter to brown very lightly on each side.  Reheat them in a 350 degree oven just before serving.

  • ½ pound of fresh mushrooms, whole if very small, quartered if large
  • 2 Tbls. butter
  • 1 Tbls. oil
  • 2 Tbls. minced shallots
  • Salt and pepper

Sauté mushrooms in the butter and oil for 5 minutes to brown them lightly.  Stir in shallots and cook slowly for a minute or two.  Season and set aside

  • 6 steaks, 1 inch thick and 2 ½ inches in diameter, wrapped in a strip of fat and tied
  • 2 Tbls. butter
  • 1 Tbls. oil

Dry steaks with a paper towel.  Place butter and oil in a skillet and set over medium-high heat.  When foam subsides, sauté steaks for 3 to 4 minutes on each side.  When done, remove to a platter, remove strings and place each on a bread canapé.  Keep warm while making sauce

  • ½ cup beef stock
  • 1 Tbls. tomato paste

Pour fat out of skillet; stir in stock and tomato paste.  Boil rapidly, scraping up the coagulated cooking juices, until reduced to 2 or 3 tablespoons.

  • ¼ cup Madeira mixed with ½ Tbls. arrowroot or cornstarch.
  • 2 Tbls. of minced parsley

Pour in the starch and wine mixture; boil rapidly for a minute.  Add the mushroom mixture and simmer until the flavors meld, correct seasoning.  Spread the sauce over the steaks and sprinkle with the parsley and serve.

OK, how was it?  It was wonderful, but a bit to tomato-y.  The sauce would be OUTRAGEOUS if it was made with a veal demi-glace and just ½ Tbls. of tomato paste.  Still, it was wonderful and I encourage everyone to make it.  I made a few alterations – I didn’t use any fat when I tied it and I used shiitake mushrooms because I love them so much. 

Who else has been making this?

November 10, 2008 - Posted by | Main Dish, Recipe, That Cookbook Thing II

6 Comments »

  1. […] example here:  THAT bCOOKBOOK/b THING II Share and […]

    Pingback by THAT bCOOKBOOK/b THING II | New Best Recipes | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. It does look wonderful. I haven’t made mine yet…plans are for this weekend and I do hope mine comes out half as pretty as yours.

    Comment by Ruth | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Mike ~ Your result is wonderful. I agree that the sauce is overwhelmed by the tomato paste, but that is a simple modification next time around. For me, the great thing about this recipe and the one for poulet au porto is that I think I have overcome my prejudices against mushrooms, but I don’t think I’m fully converted yet.

    Comment by Shaun | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ok, so now I am SO far behind I can’t stand it but I’ve added THAT one to my next week menu. One of these days…..

    Comment by breadchick | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. yours looks more saucy than mine.

    Comment by Sara | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. Finally, I did it! It was awesome.
    I used bacon instead of fat, and thanks to you and Shaun, I cut down the tomato paste. Mine was really saucy too – but I didn’t measure my stock, and I LOVE sauce. 🙂

    Comment by Deborah | November 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

