Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WEEKEND COOKBOOK CHALLENGE – FALL VEGETABLES

Wow, this is the closest I have ever come to missing a Weekend Cookbook Challenge – I seriously considered skipping this.  Not because I didn’t care or because I didn’t have any ideas or I hated the host (I don’t!).  It’s just because I’ve been lazy and busy and the 31st came on to me too fast.

Lisa from Confessions of an Apron Queen picked Fall Vegetables for this month’s challenge and I was all set for my Cheese Squash.  Well, the Cheese Squash sits unmolested on my dining room table and it’s the last day of the Challenge!  So, I broke open my sauerkraut.  What says fall vegetable more than fermented cabbage?  Well, maybe not this fermented cabbage.

I started this sauerkraut five weeks ago, but later than I usually do.  Sauerkraut will be done in 4 weeks, but only if the temperature averages about 60 degrees.  For the past month, it’s been cooler, so the sauerkraut will take longer and that’s what I’ve discovered.  I gave it an extra week and it still needs a little more time.  That being said, it was still good and I ate some, but just a bit longer fermenting will be great.  And the cookbook, it’s the USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning, Guide 6, Preparing and Canning Fermented and Pickled Vegetables.  Not something you run out to Barnes & Noble’s for – in fact, IT’S FREE!  How can you beat that?  Any way, here’s the sauerkraut with some kielbasa:

 

Here’s the cabbage still in the brine with a new weight for another week in the house.

October 31, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe, Side Dish, Weekend Cookbook Challenge

2 Comments »

  1. Very nice! Thanks for the ‘kraut update and for taking part in WCC this month. But you still have to molest the squash.

    Comment by Sara | October 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. Now Mike, that makes me want to hop in my car and drive north for some kraut! I think that meal is one of my top 10.

    Comment by breadchick | November 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

