Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

CANDIED APPLES

A couple of times I have mentioned that I am part of a group at work called the Birthday Committee.  The Birthday Committee organizes a monthly birthday celebration for employees.  This month we have chosen deserts as our “theme”.  We’re going to have cake, brownies, cookies, cheesecakes, etc.  I mean, heck, who wouldn’t love that?  I was challenged by a new member (let’s call her Jen, because that’s her name) to make candied apples.

Now, I’ve gotten lazy and that sounded like a lot of work.  But, the only thing bigger than my belly is my ego, so I said, “All right, girlie!  It’s go time!  You’re going down!  Your skinny little a$$ is mine!” Ok, maybe I didn’t say all that out loud.  Maybe all I did was try to channel my inner chameleon and attempt to blend into my chair.

Anyway, I made some candied apples to see if it was feasible for me to make 50-70 apples for the Birthday Committee.  In fact, last Monday, while I was home with my kids, we went apple picking specifically for small-ish apples for candied apples.

CANDIED APPLES

  • 24 smaller apples
  • 24 wooden ice-cream sticks
  • 4-1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon red food coloring
  • 1-1/2 cups water 

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpats. Set aside. Wash and dry the apples. Insert a stick through the stem of each, leaving about 2 inches of the stick for gripping.

 

Place the sugar, corn syrup, food coloring, and water in a heavy saucepan over medium heat. Bring slowly to a boil while stirring constantly and cook until the ingredients are dissolved.  OK, you’ll notice my sugar looks very purple-y.  That’s because I accidentally put 1 DROP of blue in the sugar before the red and I had almost no red.  Oh, well – soldiering on….

 

Insert a candy thermometer into the liquid and continuing cooking, without stirring, until the temperature reaches 290 degrees F. This should take about 20 minutes.

 

Remove the syrup from the heat and dip the apples, one by one, coating each evenly. Work quickly so the sauce doesn’t harden. Place each apple standing on the prepared cookie sheet. Let the apples cool for at least 1 hour before serving.

OK, it was so darn easy!  Get your apples prepared and start cooking.  The sugar syrup takes a full 20 minutes to get to 290, but then it’s just dip, roll and place.  Maybe 5 minutes for all 24 apples. That’s it.  Let it sit for an hour and “Kapowee!”  They’re done.

October 19, 2008 - Posted by | Dessert, Recipe

1 Comment »

  1. I want a purple candy apple! Those look great!

    Comment by Elle | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

