Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

GRASS-FED THOUGHTS

Anyone who is forced to be around me for more than one hour knows of my love for grass-fed, grass-finished beef.  So many have been around me during these times, I’m loosing friends at the rate of George Bush (I’m still his friend).  But how did this happen?  How did this tubby boy become so in love with Grass-fed beef?  Well, it’s all by chance.  My homepage is MSNBC.  What?  A “right-wing, Christian Conservative, war-supporting, Bush-is-too-liberal, “cut our hair, pull up your pants and get a job” Republican” with THEM as a homepage?  Yeah, I set it up years ago and it works for me.  Anyway, it was a Slate article I found on it titled “Raising the Steaks – If you feed cows grass, does the beef taste better?”.  And checked it out.  A great tasting steak, the best, was just a challenge that I couldn’t turn it down.  So, I went charging into the battle, like a moron Knight fighting the incoming tide or change of the seasons and guess what?  I WON!!!!  I found a local, grass-fed, grass-finished beef supplier and I fell in love almost as fast as I fell in love with She Who Must Be Obeyed.

One of the things in the Slate article I found to be true was that Grass-fed beef has wildly gyrating taste profiles, meaning sometimes GFB tastes like a beef explosion and sometimes it tastes like salmon.  And that is true – I never had anything that tasted like salmon, but I would have a pound of hamburger that was mild like feedlot beef and another like venison.  Mostly, it was a great tasting piece of beef and ALWAYS it felt good eating something that hadn’t been tortured.  Even salmon like, it was a great feeling to have been a “Steward of the Earth”, as the Lord entrusted us to be.

October 6, 2008 - Posted by | Grass fed, Random Blather

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

