Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

HIGH ON THE HOG

Last year at this time, I was a grass-fed, nearly organic, thumb-my-nose at factory farm lunatic.  I had half of a grass-fed cow in the freezer, a whole organic pig and 25 organic, free-range chickens in two other freezers.  I was THE MAN!

This year, after blowing the engine in my car this summer ($3,000) and deciding a pellet stove would make a lot more sense than buying just over 1,000 gallons of heating oil ($4,600 – including four tons of pellets), I had NO EXTRA MONEY for good food.  I’ve been cutting corners everywhere, including the food.  I’m not sure what’s happened to food prices, but I have been unable to spend less than $100.00 a week on food for the four of us.

Where am I going with this?  I don’t know.  All I know is I miss having a freezer (or two!) of good food I knew wasn’t from some feedlot.

October 2, 2008 - Posted by | Grass fed, Random Blather

1 Comment »

  1. Food prices are ridiculous. I am still shocked every time I go to the store. The price of bread products! It sucks.

    Comment by Sara | October 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

