Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

MASS KRUG

Shhh….It’s Karl’s birthday on October 12.  He’s of German descent (though not nearly as German as he should be…he doesn’t like sauerkraut!) and he really likes Spaten beer.  So, for his birthday present I went to Straub’s in Nashua, NH and picked him up the “official” beer glass of the Munich Oktoberfest – The Spaten mass krugSpaten is brewed in Munich and has been for like 4 thousand years, so the worlds largest Oktoberfest centers around Spaten beer.  And real Oktoberfest-ers drink their beer in these huge glasses – hence, the perfect birthday present.

These glasses are billed as 1 liter, that’s 33 and some odd ounces, just over a quart to us who use God’s measuring system, Imperial units.  Being a concerned and caring friend, I felt the need to try out the glass I had bought myself, so I bought a six pack of beer.  Now, each beer bottle is 12 ounces, so getting out my slide rule, I figured I could get nearly three bottles in the glass with a little left over to sample before I drank the real thing.  Pop, pop, pop – the caps come off and I start pouring.  When I was done all three bottles were in there with lots of headroom – I figured enough for nearly, if not all, of a fourth bottle!  Out came the slide rule again and I determined that a 1 liter mass krug holds nearly 48 ounces of beer.

Now I know why Oktoberfest is so popular in Munich. 

September 23, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

1 Comment »

  1. when i was a kid, i love to receive an assortment of birthday presents like teddy bears and mechanical toys ‘-*

    Comment by Pine Cupboard | November 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

