Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

SHANNON’S TURKEY SOUP

Shannon is my boss.  And frankly, if the soup wasn’t so good – I wouldn’t be writing this post right now.  You see, Shannon is on vacation this week and the rest of her team (including me, obviously) is picking up her duties and it’s been a….a week, let’s say.

A few weeks ago, I made a turkey breast over the weekend and then, because the backbone was attached, made a stock from what bones I had.  I mentioned I was going to make a turkey soup and Shannon told me about the soup she makes.  I was pretty intrigued because she uses barley (my old New England family uses macaroni) and few vegetables.  So, realizing I had everything at home, I made it.

SHANNON’S TURKEY SOUP

  • 3 Tbls. Butter
  • 1 large Onion, diced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 3-4 Carrots, diced
  • 2/3 cup Barley
  • 7 cups of Turkey Stock
  • 1/8 tsp. Poultry Seasoning
  • 1 ½ – 2 cups diced, cooked turkey

Melt butter in a 3-4 quart pan.  Add onion, garlic and carrots and sweat over low-ish heat until onions are soft.  Add barley, stock and seasoning and bring to a simmer.  Simmer for an hour until barley is soft.  Add cooked turkey and simmer for a few minutes to warm turkey.  Serve.

Yeah, that’s it.  It’s so simple, but the flavors really came through – I was blown away.  And the barley was so much better then the pasta my family always used.  This will be my go-to-soup in the future.   

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe, Soup

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

