Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

“GO..MIKEY…GO!”

What a crazy week!  This has been so nuts, I haven’t even checked my own blog!  I’ve squeezed in some email, but only about 15 minutes TOTAL this week.

That doesn’t mean I haven’t cooked.  I made a great turkey soup (courtesy of my boss), but not much else, but you need to wait for that.

Yesterday, I went with Mary from Cooking For Five to several foodie stores.  I went to Karl’s Sausage Kitchen (a little slice of Heaven), The Hilltop Steakhouse Market, Penzy’s (see below) and Whole Paycheck.  The Hilltop has a HUGE cold room full of meat at near wholesale prices (whole chickens, $0.59/pound, Rib Eye $4.99/pound, etc), but this is all foreplay for Karl’s.  Yes, I said foreplay.  Karl’s makes and smokes their own sausage, rouladen meat, BACON, TRIPLE SMOKED BACON!!!, Liverwurst, etc.  I need a cigarette and a nap after leaving Karl’s.  Penzy’s is, well….Penzy’s.  Who doesn’t love Penzy’s?  And Whole Foods?  Well, that’s…Whole Paycheck.  Good, great in places, but VERY EXPENSIVE in other places.  At least no water from New Zealand….

August 7, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

2 Comments »

  1. Triple Smoked Bacon? Oh man, where do I go!?! That reminds me I need to place an order with Penzy’s.

    Comment by Mrs. L | August 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am sooooo jealous. One really has to explore to find such exotic goodies around here. Thanks for making me drool.

    Comment by Ruth | August 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

