Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WELCHING ON A MARKER

Well, let it never be said that I welched on a marker.  Last night I made Sherry’s Alphabet Soup and it was quite good.  It takes a special kind of fun person to think of recreating a kid’s classic soup and makes me miss knowing her even more.

I made just a few changes (as you knew I would) to her wonderful recipe, but nothing Earth shattering.  I CAN’T STAND lima beans, so they were jettisoned, I didn’t have any celery (how did that happen?) and all I had was canned peas, so they were added at the very end just to warm them.  Other than that, I was true to Sherry’s recipe.

ALPHABET SOUP JUST LIKE WHEN YOU WERE A KID

  • 1 medium onion, chopped fine
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 15 ounce can chopped tomatoes
  • 4-5 cups chicken stock
  • 1 medium yukon gold potato, chopped small
  • 1 carrot, chopped small
  • 3/4 cup corn kernels
  • 1/2 of a 7 ounce package of alphabet pasta
  • Pinch of herbs, if you wish.  I used dried thyme [not me!]
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup peas

Saute the onion, thyme, and garlic until soft, about 5 minutes, over medium heat. Add the can of tomatoes, including the liquid, and the stock. Simmer for about 10 minutes, then use a hand mixer or food processor to make the broth smooth. (You don’t have to do that, if you don’t want to.[I didn’t])

Add the celery, potatoes, corn, and peas to the stock base, and cook at a low simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the pasta to the soup and cook according to package directions–about 4 minutes, usually.

I brought the leftovers to work and a few people laughed at me, but they were the losers – it was great!  Thank you, Sherry, for bringing me back to my childhood – I loved it!  Again, God Bless you – you still bring joy to this world. – MPM

July 30, 2008 - Posted by | Friends, Soup

3 Comments »

  1. yum! i’m adding this to my list.

    Comment by Sara | August 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. LOVE that you chose that recipe! I’ve made that too from her blog and it’s wonderful. I have to have a peanut butter sandwich (cut on the diagonal) to go with it though. I remember Sher laughing about making that for the blog. Thanks for doing that!

    Comment by Glenna | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh peanut butter sandwich with alphabet soup! Nothing better!

    Great tribute to Sher, Mike.

    Comment by coffeepot | August 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

