Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

KOSHER DILL’S

My unofficial goal is to become the pickle king of New Hampshire.  Of course, for this to happen, I will need to make a lot more pickles than I do and many more different kinds of pickles, but we all must have goals.  Then again, how many people want to be the pickle king of New Hampshire?  Maybe I’ll get it the same way Homer Simpson became an astronaut – by his two favorite words:  “DE-FAULT! DE-FAULT!”  But I digress.

I make kosher dill pickles.  They’re called kosher, but they’re not really; I mean, no Rabbi has ever inspected my processing facility (kitchen) or my recipe.  But, kosher dills are dill pickles with garlic added and those are the ones I make.  My recipe is based on the Quick Dill Pickles in the USDA Guide to Preparing, Canning Fermented Foods and Pickled Vegetables.  I’ve made the fermented pickles SUCESSFULLY once and they were the best pickles I have ever had, but the threat of botulism was so sever and REAL, I’ve tossed the last two attempts.

Anyway, the quick pickles make a good pickle and you can can them or, if you’re like Tommy and me, just put them in the fridge because they’ll be gone in a week or two.  I put them in an old store bought pickle jar, but use anything you have that will hold a few quarts.

QUICK KOSHER DILL PICKLES

  • 8-10 pickling cucumbers
  • 3 cups of vinegar
  • ¼ cup of salt
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 ½ Tbls. mustard seed
  • 10-12 black peppercorns
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 cloves of garlic (I had fresh garlic, thanks to the farmers market)
  • a few sprigs of dill or 2 Tbls. dill weed

Wash the cucumbers and cut of a tiny bit of the blossom end (Usually the lighter end of the cucumber.  Any bit of the blossom left on will be very bitter).  Pack them into your jar as tight as you can, cutting one or two in half lengthwise to fit.  Add mustard seed, peppercorns, bay leaf and dill.  In a 3 quart pot, bring the vinegar, salt and water to a boil.  Pour over the cucumbers and put on cover.  Put in refrigerator. They will be ready to eat in a few days, a week would be even better.

July 24, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe

2 Comments »

  1. Yum. I’m on a kick to find the best deep fried pickles…these would probably work!

    Comment by Mrs. L | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. They look great!

    Comment by Elle | July 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

