Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

MARKET DAYS

Yesterday, the kids and I went to the farmer’s market in Concord and then went around the corner to Concord’s Annual Market Days.  At Market Days, Main St. is closed off and the stores plus lots of other people set up tents for a day of outdoor fun!  Along with all of the tents, there’s rides, face painting, games – even some animals; it’s very much like a small fair.

The kids rode the rides

They played the games

They got their faces painted

They checked out the animals

This is all well and nice (it was, too!), but where’s the food part of this FOOD blog post, Mike?  In a blast from the past, I came across The Good Loaf bakery and her blessed pain de mie.  Almost none of you will remember last summer when I spoke of this wonderful bread.  It holds a special place in my heart because it was posting about sandwiches with this bread that I first became friends with a wonderful Canadian girl named Sara.

Anyway, the kids and I were walking through a huge tent set up with a lot of little tables of various shops when I spotted the bread.  I, literally, sucked in air and made a little happy noise.  I said, “Pan de Mie!  I love this bread!”  Because I was so excited about it, she sold it to me for three bucks.

On the way out, I spotted an antique shop selling a bunch of stuff and in a big box marked “4 dollars each” I found this fish roaster and a GIGANTIC cake pan.  I have no need for either, but I know someday, someday I will need them and for eight dollars, I’ll be all set.

July 20, 2008 - Posted by | Local, Random Blather

4 Comments »

  1. Looks like a blast! We’ll have to check it out.

    I think the giant cake pan may be a deep dish pizza pan? Not positive, but that’s what mine looks like. Great deals, though!

    Comment by Elle | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. Elle,

    That pan is as wide as my oven – I’m inspired! What kind of pizza do you make? Do you make your own dough?

    Comment by Mike | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. As wide as your oven? LOL, maybe its not a deep dish pie pan…

    And sadly, we’ve never used it, hehe! Dough–funny, I just made pizza dough for the first time this week–for the turkish pizzas, then again last night, for regular pizzas. It’s really good, and a nice dough to work with, too.

    But what we usually do on busy nights? Go to Sal’s on So. Willow and buy a couple of dough balls–it’s cheap, like $3.50 each, but it makes a lot of pizza. It’s delicious dough, and easy to work with. The rest is only limited by your imagination.

    Let ne know what you do!

    Comment by Elle | July 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Wait! I think it may be a cake pan yet! I was at Michael’s buying some stuff for the Daring Baker’s challenge this month, and I saw huge cake pans–for wedding cakes. Bet that’s what it is. oops!

    Comment by Elle | July 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

