Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WEEKEND COOKBOOK CHALLENGE – SALADS #2

Dipping back into Where Flavor Was Born, I’ve come up with my second submission for the Weekend Cookbook Challenge – Salads.  This recipe comes out of the Pepper chapter and for good reason; it has four different kinds of peppers in it, black, green, mild and HOT! 

SPICY BEEF SALAD WITH GREEN PEPPERCORNS      

Marinade and such

  • 8-ounce boneless sirloin steak (I used a small porterhouse I had)
  • 2 tsp. oyster sauce (I omitted because I’m allergic to shellfish)
  • 2 tsp. soy sauce (I upped to 4)
  • 1 tsp. fish sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp. of freshly ground black pepper
  • Oil

Salad

  • 2 Tomatoes, cut into 6 (make it 8 or 9) wedges each and seeded.
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 two-inch chunk of cucumber, peeled, seeded and cut into sticks
  • 2 mild chilies, seeded and diced (I used jalapenos)

Dressing

  • 2 Tbls. fresh green peppercorns (I used brined)
  • 2 Tbls. fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1-4 small bird’s-eye chilies, bruised
  • 2 tsp. fish sauce

Pat meat dry with a paper towel.  Combine the rest of the marinade ingredients (except oil).  Marinate the steak for a few minutes.

Heat a bit of oil in a large skillet over high heat.  Sear the meat for 2 minutes on each side and then return to the marinade.  Let rest for 2 to 4 minutes.

Set the skillet back over medium heat this time and cook for a few minutes on each side until medium-rare.  Transfer to cutting board and rest for 3-5 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine the tomatoes, scallions, onion, cucumber and mild chilies.  Crush the green peppercorns with the side of a knife.  In a small bowl, combine the rest of the dressing ingredients with the green peppercorns.

Cut the meat diagonally across the grain into ¼ inch slices.  Add to the salad along with the dressing and toss well. Serve immediately.

I thought it had too many green peppercorns – I would go for only 1 tablespoon.  Was the re-marinate worth it?  I think it was – it…I don’t know…it was just really good.  I also hate to say this – but the dressing could have been a bit thicker, more emulsified.  I think the next time I would add some oil and emulsify it before I mix in the chilies. Other than that, it was fun to have hot meat in cold greens and tomatoes – a total winner.

June 29, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe, Weekend Cookbook Challenge

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

