Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WEEKEND COOKBOOK CHALLENGE – SALADS #1

So, I’m hosting the Weekend Cookbook Challenge again (we must never speak of the first charnel house of a hosting I did).  This time, I picked something really fun, salads.  Now, who doesn’t love a salad!  We have green salads (ignored, but unjustly so), composed salads, like the ever famous Waldorf, Jell-O salads, just like my Grandmother used to make, (over and over again), potato salads, egg salads, Asian beef salads, etc.

Also, in total Mike fashion, I waited until the very last second to post (and this is just the first!)  I promised some people I was going to do a Jell-O salad, but…sorry, I’m not.  What I did do was go back to Where Flavor Was Born, the wonderful cookbook the lovely Sara asked a bunch us to review.  Looking for some salads out of the ordinary, I found this one:

TOMATO AND CUCUMBER SALAD WITH CUMIN SALT

  • 1 Tablespoon of whole cumin seeds
  • 2 Tablespoons of coarse sea salt
  • 1 Medium cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • 2 Tomatoes, sliced
  • ½ Vidalia onion, sliced
  • Olive Oil
  • Lemon Juice

Toast the cumin seeds in a pan for 1-2 minutes, stirring/shaking very often.  Grind coarsely in a mortar and pestle and mix with salt.

Arrange the tomatoes, cucumber and onion on plates (or one big plate) and drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice and a little of the cumin salt, serving the rest of the salt on the side.

As he kids would say with their texting, OMG!  This was so good, even my kids loved it!  Katie and Tommy ate the whole salad (including the onions! – Well, Tommy only ate the tomatoes, but Katie ate everything!)

June 28, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe, Weekend Cookbook Challenge

3 Comments »

  1. I have tomatoes ready in the garden any day. Can’t wait! Might just have to try this.

    Stop by for a few bites of My Big Fat Greek Salad: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com/2008/03/my-big-fat-greek-salad_21.html

    Comment by The Apron Queen | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. I used to make tomato and cucumber salads all the time but I never tried adding cumin, looks good!

    Comment by Mrs. L | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. With a beautiful and I am sure yummy dish like this – my friends may begin actually inviting me to bring a dish to dinner!

    Comment by Ruth | July 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

