Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

FIRST FARMER’S MARKET OF THE SEASON

This past Saturday, the kids and I went to the Concord Farmer’s Market for the first time this year.  It felt great to get back up there, see a lot of the farmers I’ve been seeing for years and check out what they’ve got early in the season.  I talked to Larry, my garlic and lettuce guy (the best around) and tell him I’ve still got some of the winter garlic I bought last fall.  The kids got to buy some muffins (blueberry and cranberry, white chocolate) and run around in front of the Capitol while I checked out the other vendors.

I love to go to the farmers market  – nowhere will you find better tasting vegetables and such – I picked up a dozen eggs that were gathered that morning.  Also, you get to support the local farmers, you know, the ones whose farms you look at when you drive by and say, “Gosh, that’s beautiful”.

Search out your local farmers market and GO!  It’s worth every extra minute you spend with good people, away from the cold, tasteless supermarket.

Check out the rainbow chard!  When was the last time you saw that in the supermarket and even Katie liked it!

June 17, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

2 Comments »

  1. Nothing better than fresh veggies from the garden or farmer’s market! Sent you my entry for weekend challenge. Let me know if you need anything else. Looking forward to all the delicious fresh veggies in everyone’s salads.

    Comment by The Apron Queen | June 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. I am a wannabe cook – why are your veggies in water?

    Comment by Ruth | July 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

