Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

BEST OF….KINDA…SORTA – SALSA

Oh, so many moons ago, I posted a recipe for salsa from the Fannie Farmer Cookbook.  I’ve been making it for years and everyone, EVERYONE who tries it – loves it.  It’s a fresh salsa recipe and every time I’ve made it with “winter tomatoes”, it’s terrible.  So, for years, I’ve only made it with fresh tomatoes. But, lately I’ve made it with canned tomatoes I’ve cut into pieces. 

It’s good.

I mean really good!

So, for the next few weeks as you wait for fresh tomatoes, don’t be afraid to make this with canned tomatoes (a 28-32 oz can), but only those with no citric acid, please.

June 14, 2008 - Posted by | Best Of...., Random Blather

1 Comment »

  1. Hey, that sounds great! And good that you can used canned, since the whole recall thing, and it’ll be a while till we start getting fresh.

    I’m going to make this very soon!

    Comment by Elle | June 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

