Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

THE BEST OF…FIRE AND ICE SALSA

A few weeks ago, just before I thought I had lost all of my previous posts on Clearblogs, I had an idea that maybe I would start posting “The Best of Mel’s Diner”.  There’s a lot of great posts on my old blog (if I do say so myself, and I shouldn’t) and I’d like people to see some of the old recipes that are just plain good.

So, the first post to make “The Best of…”is Fire and Ice Salsa.  Last weekend, I bought a watermelon (a small one) and made this outrageous salsa for my friends at work.  To a man (and woman), they loved it.  I even was asked for the recipe (complicated as it is) several times.

Fire and Ice Salsa

  • 3 cups of watermelon in small cubes
  • 2 or more fresh jalapenos
  • 2 Tablespoons of green or white onion, diced
  • 2 Tablespoons of fresh, chopped cilantro
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced.
  • Salt

Combine everything in a bowl and mix well.  Chill before serving.

 

On a not so old best of recipe, I made Nigella’s beef stew tonight and boy, oh boy it’s good.  This recipe (ironically, the failed one) is still the number one visited page on Mel’s Diner.

May 31, 2008 - Posted by | Best Of...., Recipe

2 Comments »

  1. That looks great! Watermelon is so good on its own that people forget it works really well with other ingredients.

    Comment by Renaedujour | June 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. That looks delicious! I’ve never tried watermelon in salsa, but I’ll be sure to try it this summer.

    Comment by Elle | June 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

