Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

SANGRIA

I know..I know…We’ve all heard the old joke,  “How can you tell the tourists in a Spanish bar?  They’re the one’s drinking Sangria”.  Yeah, yeah – Sangria is the low brow, touristy, non-authentic, only-dumb-asses-drink-it beverage of the lower classes.  I’ve heard it all.

But I don’t care.

I remember the hot summer two years ago (or was it three?) when a good friend and I were working on my basement and his wife came over and we jokingly said, “Make us some Sangria!” 

Damned if she didn’t. 

She should have walked away and left us to some warm diet Coke. But, fine lady that she is, she came back with some ice cold Sangria.

Oh, man……it was good.

So the first warm day of the year, I made some – and oh, man…..it was good.

Mike’s Sangria

  • 1/8 cup superfine sugar
  • ¼ cup hot water
  • 1 bottle, cheap, unoaked red wine
  • ½ cup orange liquor
  • ¼ cup of brandy
  • Juice of ½ lime
  • 1 orange, sliced thinly
  • 1 lemon, sliced thinly
  • Club soda

In a glass pitcher, add sugar.  Add hot water and stir until blended.  Add liquor, brandy, wine, lime juice, orange and lemon slices.  Stir and chill.  Serve in glasses, 2/3 Sangria to 1/3 club soda, over ice with orange wedge.

May 17, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe

4 Comments »

  1. I’d happily drink that sangria! It’s so delicious and refreshing.

    We used to get it all the time at Poco Diablo’s in Portsmouth–it was the best one I ever had! Not sure if they still serve it. Or if they’re even still around! We don’t get out for adult dinner very much with the kids, hehe.

    Love your blog, and thanks for stopping my at mine!

    Comment by Elle | May 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sangria….takes me back to travelling through Spain with my sister a million years ago, particularly the tour bus trip to a bunch of flamenco clubs…need I say more? I’ve loved it ever since. Thanks for the walk down memory lane. Now I’m off to buy ingredients 😉

    Comment by Ruth | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. My very favorite Summer beverage (other than The Rhubarbian, which is basically whatever you want it to be as long as it involves homemade rhubarb syrup)!

    Oh sangria, so tasty and so wrongfully mocked.

    Comment by missbhavens | June 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. A good Sangria is on my list of things to make this summer. I’ll have to try this!

    Comment by Mrs. L | June 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

