Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

NEW STUFF

I bought some new stuff!  The more astute of you guessed that by the post’s title, but I still had to say it.  Yesterday, I went to my local Agway store because they have a New Hampshire section to buy a beanpot.  Why?  Check back this weekend – you’ll see.  Anyway, the beanpot is from Salmon Falls Stoneware in Dover, NH and I think it’s quite beautiful:

 

Today, I went to Macy’s to buy a new food processor.  I have an ancient, but fully functional Cuisinart my friend gave me.  It’s so old, it’s the kind you turn on and off by twisting the cover, no On/Off buttons for this!  BUT, Macy’s is having such a sale, the 11 cup processor, normally $199.00 is on sale through Saturday for $99.00!  I had one in my hands when I put it back because, heck – mine still works!  As I passed the Martha Stewart stuff I saw a display of her enameled, cast-iron Dutch ovens.  The 5 ½ quart was $99.99, but through the stand tag I could see “SALE $49.99”.  I asked the Macy’s guy when that started and he scanned the item – it was $39.99!  Needless to say…

April 24, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

4 Comments »

  1. Wow, what a deal. You scored. Usually it cost 39.99 just for the name. But you got a great product included.
    Nice bean pot too!

    Comment by megan | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Very excellent shopping! And I love red to death. Too bad there’s no Macy’s here in Canada. I’ll just live vicariously through your photos.

    Comment by Ruth | April 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Mike ~ I have never heard of a beanpot before. I know that beans are revered in New England, so I suspect this is where there is a specific cooking vessel designed for bean dishes. Would a regular dutch oven, such as your Le Creuset piece, be just as good? I can’t quite make out what the difference might be except that which concerns volume. As for the items you picked, the prices are bordering on vulgar – so cheap for good brands. With all the products and competition in the marketplace, it is a good time to stock up on must-haves in the kitchen.

    Comment by Shaun | May 16, 2008 | Reply

  4. Shaun,

    It seems Fannie Farmer anticipated your questions 90 years ago:

    “The fine reputation which Boston Baked Beans have gained has been attributed to the earthen bean-pot with small top and bulging sides in which they are supposed to be cooked. Equally good beans have often been eaten where a five-pound lard pail was substituted for the broken bean pot.”

    BTW, a lard pail looks just like my other purchase this day, except it’s earthenware. A Dutch Oven makes great beans.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike | May 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

