Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

BEEF STROGANOV

Last weekend I totally splurged and bought a tenderloin roast, a little over three pounds and more money than I will admit to here.  I cooked it Sunday, and if I do say so myself, it was perfect.  When dinner was over, we had just under a pound left over, just right for Beef Stroganov later in the week.

Wednesday night, I looked through Julia’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking and another odd cookbook I have, Russian, German & Polish Food and Cooking, edited by Lesley Chamberlain.  Both have Beef Stroganov (or Beef Stroganoff, depending on the book) recipes, both fairly different.  Julia’s recipe has no onions, heavy cream (shocker!) and Madeira.  RGP has a lot of onions, sour cream and tomato paste.  Both have fillet and mushrooms.  So, I did what I always do – I combined them.  Oh, there is also no picture because my second rate camera finally died.

Leftover Beef Stroganoff (Stroganov)

  • 1 pound leftover tenderloin/fillet, thinly sliced into strips.
  • 1 Large Onion, sliced
  • ½ pound of Mushrooms, sliced
  • Butter
  • ¼ cup Madeira
  • ¾ cup of Stock (I used roasted chicken stock or use beef stock)
  • 2/3 cup of Sour Cream
  • Salt & Pepper

Sauté the mushrooms in a 10″ frying pan, spreading them out and not messing with them so they can lightly brown, turning over once to brown the other side.  Remove the mushrooms and sauté the onions, adding more butter if needed.  When the onions are done, add back the mushrooms, the Madeira and stock.  Let it boil down to about 1/3 cup.  Add in leftover beef, cook for 1 minute.  Add in sour cream, stirring to combine and warming everything.  Add salt & pepper to taste, serve over noodles.

April 12, 2008 - Posted by | Main Dish, Recipe

1 Comment »

  1. If it wasn’t 9 at night and if I was hungry and if I had all the necessary ingredients, I would totally run into the kitchen and make this right now.
    Sorry to hear about your camera, have you bought a new one yet?

    Comment by Sara | April 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

