Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

A VERY BRINEY WEEKEND

Is that a lame post title or what?  Oh, well – I’m kind of tired and I’m not overthinking it too much.  We just had the Boston-branch of She Who Must Be Obeyed’s family up for late-lunch, early-dinner and it went well, but you know how these things can be stressful.  Ok, I know what you’re wondering.  We had:

  • Chicken Meredith
  • Steamed Asparagus
  • Scalloped Potatoes
  • Orzo with Parmesan
  • Buttered, Dill Carrots

It came out really well.  Everything tasted good and was hot on the plates.  It was good.

Anyway, this is not the Briney Weekend I speak off – it’s next weekend.  I plan on making a corned beef and a fresh ham for next weekend.  Eye of the Round was on sale and I bought a couple pounder and intend to corn it using the recipe I cobbled together from a few sources.  I also want to make Bruce Aidell’s York-Style Ham, which is cured/brined and then cooked in what looks like a tasty court-bouillon. 

April 5, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

1 Comment »

  1. Scott was reading a recipe last week to make your own corned beef. I look forward to seeing hour yours turns out. Also, orzo with parm? YUM.

    Comment by Sara | April 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

