Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

FREEGANS

I hate hippies.  And I hate Freegans.  I hate hippies because they don’t bathe, the don’t cut their hair and they complain interminably about the same system that allows them to not bathe, cut their hair or have a job.  I hate Freegans for almost all of the same reasons.

Freegans are, “people who employ alternative strategies for living based on limited participation in the conventional economy and minimal consumption of resources.”  Or, in the real world, parasites.  They pretend they are these rogues who have forsaken the modern way of existence and live like the foragers (No hunting!  Forfend!) like the cavemen of the past.  What these lazy, good-for-nothings can’t seem to get through their over-pampered-while-growing-up-childhood-heads, is that without the Hell-on-Earth “capitalism”, their very Freeganism wouldn’t exist!  If they didn’t have anything to get from dumpster-diving, this “rummaging through the garbage of retailers, residences, offices, and other facilities for useful goods”, they would die slowly, starving like the non-productive members of society they are.

Must be tough to be so stupid, yet – they do a good job at it.   

I guess I have to give them that.

March 27, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

6 Comments »

  1. mikey:
    I want to be a freegan now. Hodie.

    Comment by Hodie | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. But what about all the retailers, residences, offices, and other facilities that throw out perfectly good food? Should it go to waste just because they choose to throw it away? What’s wrong with salvaging if no one else wants it? Isn’t that the ultimate crime? Their wastefulness?

    Comment by Sara | March 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. I don’t really care if it goes to waste or not – that’s the capitalist in me. I wouldn’t do it, but I also wouldn’t take it upon myself to tell them NOT to either, just like I don’t want anyone to tell me not to toss out anything I do.

    Now, that also doesn’t allow me to tell the dumpster-ones not to go get what I toss out, either. I recognize that. What gets my goat is their GENERAL (maybe not universal) view of how nightmare-ish the capitalist system is. They tend to snub their nose at us like we are evil, but without us – they starve. I never hear that from them. I guess that’s my problem.

    Comment by Mike | March 31, 2008 | Reply

  4. Many Freegans salvage food to feed to poor people who can’t afford to buy food. Do you have a problem with that?

    How about a little compassion for your fellow man?

    Comment by everzalez | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. The only reason they eat from dumpsters is because if they didn’t all that food would go to waste. When they feel the need to buy food, they do so locally. They also plant their own gardens. The idea is to focus on community and conserving the resources we have. If there wasn’t so much waste, the freegans would be self-sufficient. They only eat the waste because it is there to eat.

    Comment by Lacii | October 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. THEY ARE BUGS!!! Freeganism is the de-evolution of a human into the characteristics of an insect that is programmed by such instinct to recycle decomposition! FLIES. Flies eat rot, refuse and discard left to time. Flies are an integral part of nature… But people acting as flies? Are not human.

    Comment by Jim | March 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

