Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

JIM BEARD

My friends at Serious Eats….OK, time to talk about Serious Eats.  Ed Levine started this blog and it’s one of the best I have seen.  Sure, it’s very New York City centric, but more often than not, it’s full of great stories.  I can’t encourage all of you enough to visit this EVERY DAY.

Anyway, over at Serious Eats I find a post about James Beard from MY FAVORITE NEWSPAPER (sarcasm off), the New York Times.  It’s a little diddy about him and his cookbooks and it’s good – but what makes this incredible is the recipes!  The gang at Serious Eats liked the hamburger recipe (which does look good), but they failed to mention the standout recipe in the bunch – Beard’s Cream Biscuits.  I’ve made these and they are, as Jimmie Walker would say, Dy-No-Mite!  I’m also fascinated by the pound cake recipe – I mean, hello?!?  There’s a whole pound of butter in there!  It looks like the original ratios here (a pound of butter, a pound of flour, a pound of eggs and a pound of sugar) – Oh, baby!  Talk slower…..

Alright, alright…..I’m back.  Just go read the article, I need a cigarette.

March 17, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

