Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WHAT HAVE I BEEN COOKING?

This is a cooking blog – so, everyday I should be posting about the exciting, fun stuff I have been cooking. I mean, c’mon, Mike, you’re a foodie, you cook incredible food every night!  My sister-in-law once confessed to me she was cooking Hamburger Helper and, “you would never cook anything like that”.  Well, I will confess I haven’t made Hamburger Helper in a few years only because I can make something a lot like it in just the same amount of time with less salt, but that’s not to say we have pot-a-feu every night.  Last night, I was so tired the kids had chicken nuggets and tater tots for dinner.  Yes, tater tots and chicken nuggets.  I’m a dad of the 21st century, too – and sometimes junk food is good food. 

But, Mike, what about the other nights?  Well, I did make a roast pork a la Bruce Aidell on Sunday and we went out on Saturday.  Tonight, I cut up a chicken and roasted it and served it with orzo.  Who needs a recipe for that?  So, I don’t have a lot to talk about.  Frankly, a lot of dinners for a foodie is nothing special.  Good food doesn’t mean fancy food.  IT CAN, but it isn’t a requirement.  Good food is often homey food.  And that’s what I have been cooking – homey food.  Nothing you’re not making. 

Sorry.

March 11, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

3 Comments »

  1. I absolutely ADORE tater tots. Heck I’ve been known to eat them frozen on hot days (strange I know but hey, you already knew that right?!) Think I may have to add those to the grocery list…

    Comment by breadchick | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. Homey food is good food, especially when winter keeps throwing unexpected snow storms at you in the middle of otherwise 70 degree days. But that’s probably not going on up where you live. The “70 degree part”, anyway.

    I would go back and change my comment to make sense, but I think it would lose some of it’s charm.

    Comment by Deborah | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. mmmmmmm…..tots.

    Comment by Sara | March 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

