Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

BOTTLED WATER

This is another one of Mike’s rants.  This doesn’t have anything to do with cooking, there is no recipe involved, etc.  It’s just Mikey going off.

Bottled water offends me.  Especially, the 20 oz, easy to carry, hand held model.  People – IT’S WATER!!!!  WATER!!!!  Water is the key to life – I know.  Something like 120% of the human body is made up of water.  Blah, blah, blah.  I know all of this, but buying water in bottles is STUPID!  C’mon, water is dirt cheap out of the tap and depending where you live, it’s great!  If you live in one of those places where the water is vary bad, a cheap filter will make it great and still like 2000% cheaper! 

All of us complain about the price of gasoline, but we will spend that much for a gallon of water that comes out of your tap at a 1,000th of the price!  It’s like buying a pet rock.  Go outside, find a rock and name it Rover.  If you want water, go to your freakin’ sink!

March 7, 2008 - Posted by | Opinion

3 Comments »

  1. Mike I agree with you about 92% of the time. Here is where I disagree with you that buy a bottle of water is :

    A. At the airport when I am getting on a cramped bus hurtling @ 500mph and the idiot boy at TSA just took my “empty” water bottle that I would have used to refill at the water fountain (has happened 3 out of the last 4 times I’ve flown).

    B. I just drank the last of the water I brought with me to Central Park and the two water fountains near where I’m at have had homeless people urinate in them (yup, true story)

    C. Overseas when I’m traveling. Unfortunately, even today, there are quite a few countries whose water systems aren’t quite up to snuff. Even Paris water can make someone who isn’t used to it sick.

    On the plus side, I ALWAYS recycle those water bottles when I can.

    Comment by breadchick | March 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Those cases are the exceptions and buying water is fine. What I’m talking about is the majority of time when water is purchased. The average water buyer is not traveling like you do or in Central Park. The average water buyer is buying cases of 20 oz bottles to drink in the car, drink at work, etc., where it is completely unnecessary.

    I like Whole Foods, but what I remember most about my first exposure to Whole Foods was walking through the front door to a huge display of water from New Zealand.

    I’m not even all wound up by the amount of petroleum used in the bottle or transporting water from Maine, Saratoga, New Zealand, Fiji, Iceland, etc. to Austin, TX. It’s what I consider the sillyness of spending A LOT of money on something the average American can get for nearly free. I, seriously, can see no diference from buying water to drink at home and buying a pet rock.

    Comment by Mike | March 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. Here’s a great site for information about how wasteful bottled water really is…

    http://www.BottledWaterBlues.com

    Comment by Mike | April 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

