Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WEEKEND COOKBOOK CHALLENGE – SLOW PRESSURE

Add begging, and that’s my sex life – I’ve been married for sixteen years!  Oh, that’s terrible, Lord forgive me and may my wife never read this post.  As you may have guessed, I’m feeling better.

Aside from the love life of a married man named Mike in New Hampster (as it was referred to by a good friend in a tax laden nightmare of a state whose capitol rhymes with Fartford), this month’s Weekend Cookbook Challenge (a sliver of genius from a wonderful girl named Sara) is slow cookers, crockpots and pressure cookers hosted by another wonderful lady, Lis from La Mia Cucina, genius that she is.

Now, many people fear pressure cookers.  This irrational fear comes from the explosive, nightmarish, 1st degree burns that used to be caused from early pressure cookers. 

Huh, wimps.

No, seriously, early pressure cookers were, rarely, dangerous.  Ok, deadly.  BUT, those days are over.  Today’s pressure cookers are as safe as an oven.  They have quick-release levers, safety-valves, etc.  No fear. 

I love my pressure cooker.  I just recently used it to speed up a (UPDATE: I orginally said a Nigella recipe, wrong as usual, Mike) Bruce Aidell recipe I didn’t have the time to cook for hours and hours.  It performs wonders, but not for everything.  Julia and crew tested it for stocks in Mastering The Art Of French Cooking and found it lacking.  I think it tends to suck the flavor out of some stuff and unless you’re making a flavorful dish (like stew or chili), it can be too rough on delicate flavors.  This makes sense when you think about it – your forcing things together.  Have you ever heard of a shotgun wedding working out after the shotgun was taken away?  I mean, besides mine.

March 6, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather, Weekend Cookbook Challenge

1 Comment »

  1. Yes, my state is tax laden for sure BUT it is a dream compared to that state I recently left (Taxachussetts).

    You have inspired me to go check out a current pressure cooker (and remind me to tell you about how my mother tried to pawn off my grandmother’s old pressure cooker on me telling me my grandmother only twice had problems and only in one of those was anything damaged..the front bay window was shattered, 55 feet away from where the stove was located at)

    Comment by breadchick | March 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

