Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

I’VE BEEN OUT OF THE LOOP

I don’t normally get sick.  I’m one of those lucky bastards who looks on as other people get sick.  I’m not terribly unsympathetic, I just don’t get sick.  My wife loses her voice about three times a year from a cold and unlike most men who wish for this to happen to their wives, I feel badly for her.  I watch people from work drop out of sight because they can’t make it in and I’m the one who is always just there.

Not this past week.

I was knocked on my butt – tired from sun up to sun down.  I didn’t even want to post on Mel’s Diner.  The Diner held no love for me and that just ain’t right!  So, that’s why I have one lousy post and nothing right now – I’ve just been sick.  Don’t get this – back away from your computer and get the Lysol.

What have I missed?  Maybe the most exciting posts that have ever hit the blogosphere.  I’m talking about the posts from the Daring Bakers tackling the most scary, most out of control, the most “What? No one in their right mind would try THAT!” recipe ever.  The EIGHTEEN page (yes, that’s 18 in numbers) recipe for French Bread from the blessed Julia in The Art of French Cooking II.  Not only did this strike team tackle it, they beat it into submission, they conquered, kicked butt, took names and chewed bubblegum while doing it. 

I’m in awe.

Maybe I’m happy I was sick.  If I was on the front lines and witnessed the slaughter, I may very well have run, retired my blog and become an accountant.  (Oh, wait – I’ve been an accountant, don’t want to do that again)  OK, maybe a meter maid.  Yeah, working for the city, handing out tickets to non-existent people on a scooter.  That’s got my name written all over it.  No flour, no ovens, no steam, no kneading, no nothing.  Just a scooter, a pad and a pen.  Oh, and a cute hat.

Meter Maid

March 3, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

5 Comments »

  1. You look mighty fine in that hat!
    I double dare you to make this bread, you’ll love it!

    Comment by Sara | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yes, I think the purse will be the latest accessory at that Right Winger meeting you are having in MSP this year 😉

    Anyways, I second what Sara says and TRIPLE dare you to make this bread 😉 You really will love it.

    Comment by breadchick | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. Breadchick,

    I can’t make this without you! Let me come to your house with a BEAUTIFUL wife (Nigella without the accent) and two crazy kids, and maybe – yeah. But, on my own? NO WAY! I’ll be a meter maid, first.

    Comment by Mike | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  4. Mike,

    Better yet, let me come to YOUR house and I’ll teach you, your lovely wife and two crazy kids how to bake this and you can do the French meal!

    New Hampster isn’t THAT far away…

    Comment by breadchick | March 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. I like your post.
    Sometime your idea is correct.
    And make me review myself again.
    like scooter on the no destination way.

    Comment by scooterelectric | March 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

