Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

TOTAL RECALL

Anybody older than the 30 remembers this Arnold Scwhartzenoggeriggerogger movie that introduced us to a very hot Sharon Stone when she kept her clothes on, legs together and died violently.  It also has to do with the largest meat recall in American history!  143 million (with a “M”) pounds of beef was recalled over a rogue, undercover video showing mis-treated cows, those which the FDA says are potentially very sick and should not be in the “food stream” (that sounds appealing, huh), being put in that same stream.  I saw this on the ole- WWW about a two weeks ago, courtesy of Michael Ruhlman and Chris Cosentino.

You know what?  I wasn’t at all surprised, I was mad, but I had no, “Oh my God, what have I been eating?” moments.  Because, as you all know and anyone who will stand still for a second knows, I don’t eat that garbage.  I buy local, grass-fed, grass-finished beef from a farmer who raises these cows and who I look in the eye.  E-coli stained, mis-treated, nearly killed with corn cows are what other people eat.  I don’t want them to eat it, but cheap meat is what we American’s want and if that’s what they want, then that’s what they get.

Of course, this sounds like the ravings of a madman to a lot of readers (or would, if I had a lot of readers).  But anyone who has read The Omnivore’s Dillema or The Way We Eat knows exactly what I’m talking about.  People, open your eyes, see what goes into your belly!  Then, go to eatwild.com and fill it with “happy meat”.

Happy Cows

February 20, 2008 - Posted by | Grass fed, Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

