Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

LENT UPDATE

OK, so how is Lent going?  As you may or may not know, I’ve given up processed foods for Lent.  By processed foods, what I mean is foods that are broken down beyond recognition.  Cheddar cheese is NOT processed.  Sure, it’s milk that’s been “processed” into cheese, but cheese isn’t processed (in my world).  Taco shells dance along the border of processed.  Boxed mac and cheese?  Processed.  Home made bread?  Not processed.  Wonder?  Processed.  These may or may not fit into the classic definitions of processed food, but this is my resolution and I make the rules.

That doesn’t mean I can make the rules easy.  I just want to make them realistic.  So, how’s Lent?  My biggest issues come from snacking.  The kids had some Lunchables (not that they get these often) today and I found myself stealing a bite of Chicken Dunks (don’t ask) or Katie’s Nachos – all very processed and a definite no-no.  Lunches have been a small issue, too.  On Wednesday, I was scrambling to make a salad dressing and Friday’s lunch was just bread I had (I made it a few weeks ago – I took it out of the freezer) and an olive oil/herb dipping sauce.  I seem to forget I can’t buy lunch until the last minute and run around the house, looking for something to bring to work.

So far, so good – but, snacking is an issue.  I get hungry at work and….nothing.  I can’t eat anything from the snack machine, I have to hope I brought an apple.  BUT, that’s a VERY good habit to form. 

February 9, 2008 - Posted by | Lent

2 Comments »

  1. I’m with you on the processed foods – well, on trying to cut them out. I haven’t given anything up for Lent in many years, but this is an awesome way to try to get a healthier diet! I’ve been waging a war on the major things in my StepSon’s diet for awhile – but since he was 13 before I had any {ahem} input on his diet, it’s been….a challenge. Yes, a challenge.
    Good luck! (thought I’d spread the exclamation point love in your direction 🙂 )
    OH GOD I JUST DID AN EMOTICON.

    Comment by Deborah | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Mike
    I’ve been out of The Church for longer than I was in, but I think I remember that you are supposed to sacrifice something for Lent. It seems wrong to give up something that is so lousy to begin with, eh?

    Comment by Bob delGrosso | February 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

