Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

PRESTO PASTA NIGHT – SPAGHETTI & MEATBALLS

Sometimes, you’ve just gotta keep it real.  What I mean by that, is you have to once in a while not go for the special thing, the different, the “Wow!”.  And on Presto Pasta Night, that might just mean Spaghetti and Meatballs.

Who didn’t love spaghetti and meatballs as a kid?  You show me a kid who didn’t love spaghetti & meatballs and I’ll show you an unhappy kid or one with amnesia.  Or gluten intollerant.

My meatball recipe comes for the gentlemen at the Pacific Street Social Club in Brooklyn, NY.  I saw these gents cooking on Sara Moulton’s BEST show (IMHO), her later night Cooking Live show.  Watching these guys drinking wine, helping Sara make the Sunday gravy, meatballs and braciole – I knew I had found something special.

Pacific Street Social Club Meatballs

· 1 cup cubed stale bread (as from an Italian loaf)
· Milk for soaking the bread
· 1 pound lean ground beef, such as sirloin
· 3 cloves garlic, minced
· 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley leaves (I use 1/4 cup)
· 1/2 cup freshly grated Romano cheese (I use Parmesan)
· 2 large eggs
· Salt and freshly ground black pepper

In a small bowl, combine the bread with enough milk to just cover and let the bread soak for 10 minutes. Squeeze dry and chop fine.

In a bowl, combine the bread with the meat, garlic, parsley, Romano or Parmesan cheese, eggs, and salt and pepper to taste. Form into 12 to 14 meatballs, about 2 1/2 inches in diameter, and chill until ready to cook.

Meatballs 

The original recipe says to brown the meatballs in olive oil and then finish cooking in homemade red sauce (Sunday Gravy).  Instead, I always cook in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes, they never fall apart on me that way.

I made a simple red sauce with sauteed onions, a 28oz can of whole tomatoes (no citric acid, please!) and basil.  I served the sauce and meatballs with freshly grated Parmesan.  Presto – instant childhood.

Spaghetti & Meatballs

February 7, 2008 - Posted by | Pasta, Presto Pasta Night

1 Comment »

  1. Wow! Those do look awesome. And perhaps even better than my mom’s ! Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Night.

    Comment by Ruth | February 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

