Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

SHEPHERD’S PIE SOUP

I would love to say I came up with this idea and it’s all mine.  Mine, mine, mine, mine.  But it’s not.  We have a little cafe in the building next door at work and Cathy often has specials, including soup.  Asking what the special was one day, I heard it was Shepherd’s Pie Soup.  After my wonderful Shepherd’s Pie Twice Baked Potatoes, I thought I would give it a try.

It sucked.

It was in a beef broth base, with HUGE chunks of hamburger (which I found out was leftover meatloaf, not a bad thing), potatoes, corn and mushrooms(?!).  And it was bad.  I knew I could do it better, so I did.  I didn’t do better pictures, hence nothing to see how it looked.

I made mine in a cream of potato soup, with corn and hamburger.

SHEPHERD’S PIE SOUP

  • Butter
  • 2 large onions, diced
  • 1 1/2 pounds of potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 4 cups of half and half
  • 1 pound of hamburger
  • 1 can, creamed corn
  • Salt and pepper

Melt a bit of butter in a pan and add onions.  Cook for a minute or two and add hamburger.  Cook through.  Remove to a dish.  In large 5 qt pot, cook potatoes in chicken stock until soft.  Cool slightly.  Puree in blender and add back into pot.  Add hamburg mixture, half and half and corn.  Mix and heat until warm.  Season as necessary. 

February 6, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe, Soup

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

