Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

LENT

Like any good Catholic, or wannabe good Catholic, I’m giving up something for Lent, which starts today. What I’ve decided to give up this year is processed foods. For the next forty days I will eat no meat on Fridays and stick to whole foods, nothing from the “center of the grocery store” as Michael Pollan says. Now before I get to far into this, let me set forth my exceptions and ground rules.

  • White flour is acceptable.. I know, I know, it’s refined, but I don’t really like Whole Wheat flour all that much.
  • I hereby grant myself a Papal dispensation if we go out or go to friend’s and family
  • Beer is OK. So is Scotch. And Gin
  • Pickled foods are not refined. HFCS and plain old CS are and therefore, verbotten
  • Packaged, frozen and canned veggies are allowed. Frozen with cheese sauce and all Campbell-type soups are out.
  • No going out to lunch
  • I hereby purchase an indulgence for the The February Birthday Lunch at work (Chocolate!)
  • White Rice is OK. We’ve been eating more brown rice, but my family will revolt if all I make is brown.
  • All bets are off for St. Patrick’s Day; I declare it a free-for-all.

So, here we go. We actually eat pretty well at my house, so this isn’t an immense lifestyle change, but it will be hard. I found myself this morning having to whip up a vinaigrette for the salad I was bringing because bottled salad dressing is out. It’s the little things like that that will do me in.

February 6, 2008 - Posted by | Lent

1 Comment »

  1. Oh yea, it’s that time of the year isn’t it. I have to figure out what I’m giving up (I guess going to mass can’t be one of those things can it?!). You are better man than I my friend. I’ll have to get back to you on what I’m giving up…

    Comment by breadchick | February 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

