Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

MEATLOAF-STUFFED ONIONS

Obviously, this is a takeoff from the Lamb-Stuffed Onions I loved so much from Where Flavor Was Born.  Honestly, I’m going to spend the next few months dreaming of stuff I can stuff into onions.  I was at work talking to my friends about what I was making for dinner (this happens a lot) when I thought about stuffing an onion with the meatloaf I was making that night.  I came home, peeled an onion, tossed it in boiling water laced with Tabasco for 15 minutes, pulled the “guts” out (I used the guts in the meatloaf) and stuffed it with some of the meatloaf mix.  The meatloaf mix was ground beef, eggs, fresh bread crumbs, onion guts, garlic, tomatoes, parsley, salt and pepper.

I cooked the onion and the meatloaf for 45 minutes (forgot about the onion, but it wasn’t too overcooked).  So, it was pretty good.  The onion could have been in the water a bit longer and the Tabasco did nothing – I couldn’t even taste it.  I’m doing all this because I’m looking for suggestions on how to make this wonderful and also new stuffed-onion ideas.   

Watcha’ got?

Meatloaf-Stuffed Onion

February 2, 2008 - Posted by | Recipe

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

