Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

SEARED TUNA WITH WASABI-COCONUT SAUCE

Here’s a dish I made that I’ve meant to post about for a few weeks. I was at the store when I saw a fairly nice piece of tuna, not a thick as I wanted, but, oh well. When I got home I went-a-searchin’ for a recipe and I found this one on Epicurious. It calls to be served with roasted-red pepper rice pilaf, but we had just eaten rice pilaf, so I skipped it. The sauce was so ridiculously easy and wonderful, that it’s slipped into my memory bank as a regular.

SEARED TUNA WITH WASABI-COCONUT SAUCE

Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2-3 tbls. of wasabi powder
  • 2-3 tbls. of sugar

Mix together. (tough, huh?)

Tuna:

8 ozs. tuna

Sear until rare, 1 – 2 minutes each side. (even tougher)

This was very good.  I served the sauce on the side so everyone (Ok, there was only two of us, but S.W.M.B.O doesn’t like wasabi all that much) could use as much or as little as desired. 

BTW, I was pretty excited about serving this because I was able to use the Chinese soup spoons I had purchased a few years back for a Christmas party I had.

 Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Coconut Sauce

January 29, 2008 - Posted by | Main Dish, Recipe

1 Comment »

  1. Love the soup spoon!

    Comment by Sara | February 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

