Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

WEEKEND COOKBOOK CHALLENGE #24 – THE VEGGIES

Squeaking in again, here’s my recipe for the Weekend Cookbook Challenge.  This month’s edition is hosted by the effervescent Sara and the theme is Veggin’ Out.  Now, I’m not a huge vegetable fan, I’m not going to lie to you.  My food of choice has been and always will be High Fructose Corn Syrup, no, wait… I mean meat.  I prefer my food to have once roamed the earth and to have mooed or a future in bacon.  That being said, I can and do enjoy non-meat items, though I tend make them as meat-like as possible.  Along those lines is my recipe choice, Vegetable Stock. 

This wonderful recipe comes from the Moosewood Restaurant Kitchen Garden and I can’t say enough good about it.

Moosewood Garden

Moosewood Vegetable Stock

2 large potatoes, thickly sliced

2 – 3 onions, quartered

3 – 4 carrots, thickly sliced

1 celery stalk, chopped

1 apple quartered

1 or 2 bay leaves

6 peppercorns

10 cups (2 1/2 quarts) water

Add all ingredients to a stockpot.

Veggie Stock 

Bring to a boil.  Simmer for an hour or more.  Strain stock, pressing the vegetables to get as much liquid as possible out.

That’s it.  As Jamie Oliver would say, easy-peasy.  Oh, don’t skip the apple.  The first time I made this, I thought it would make it sweet, so I only put in 1/2 of an apple and pulled it out early.  Lo and behold, the stock was a tad bitter. 

January 20, 2008 - Posted by | Vegetables, Weekend Cookbook Challenge

4 Comments »

  1. Sounds delicious! But I bet you added something that had mooed to the soup, didn’t you!
    Thanks for joining WCC again Mike.

    Comment by Sara | January 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. Believe it or not, no. But to cleanse my system, I’m making beef stock tonight.

    Comment by Mike | January 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Great sounding stock. I’m glad you mentioned about the onion, because I probably wouldn’t have put it in. A great basic recipe, thanks!

    Comment by Laurie Constantino | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. What a terrific sounding stock and who’d ‘a thunk “apple”!?!

    Another great idea for vegetable stock is to use roasted vegetables. I adapted a recipe from Fresh at Home that was very tasty. http://onceuponafeast.blogspot.com/2005/09/adzuki-bean-stew-roasted-vegetable.html

    Comment by Ruth | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

