Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

SPICES

How many of us have spices dating back decades?  I bet most of us have at least ONE that goes back more than ten years.  We’ve moved it a few times, always saying, “I’ll need that someday”.  And everyone of us has a spice at least five or six years old.  I bet a few of us have herbs that old.  I know I did.

Today, I went with a good friend to a Penzey’s store to restock.  Boy, was that great!  They have open jars of each spice (almost) so you can smell it.  That’s what lead me to Ceylon Cinnamon.  Oh, my! 

I came home with bunch of spices!

Spice1

I cleaned out my spice cabinet, tossing a bunch of stuff that was old, replaced or I knew I was never going to use.  After I was done, I gazed upon my newly cleaned (you would be surprised how many spilled spices and herbs collect on the shelf) and arranged spices.  I was so impressed, I took a picture, because deep down I know chaos will reign in here within a few days. 

Spice2

January 12, 2008 - Posted by | Random Blather

3 Comments »

  1. I am so jealous!!!! I have always enjoyed ordering spices from Penzey’s catalog and would give my left arm to live near their store. It’s probably better that I don’t, though…cuz I’d spend my rent money on spices!

    Comment by Mimi | January 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. You would be surprised how affordable they are. That being said, your rent might be a little late.

    Comment by Mike | January 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Mike, you spice cabinet looks like my spice cabinet. And don’t you find going to Penzy’s kind of like going to a candy store only better in so many ways!

    Comment by breadchick | January 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

