Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

PRESTO PASTA – ROASTED PEPPER GNOCCHI

Well, I have a new look and my first real post is a Presto Pasta Night.  I decided I would make something a little different and for that, I went to Mario’s cookbook – Simple Italian Food.  Flipping through the pasta section, I came across his gnocchi recipes.  Presto! 

In a Karmic conflagration, that weekend I watched Lydia’s Italy and Holy Basil, Batman, she was doing gnocchi.  So, tonight, I did gnocchi – what else could I do?

Roasted Pepper Gnocchi

1 pound of russet potatoes

2 medium bell peppers, roasted

1 cup all purpose flour

1 extra-large (I used large) egg

1 teaspoon salt

In a large saucepan, boil the potatoes until they are soft, about 45 minutes.  While still warm, peel and pass through a vegetable mill or ricer onto a clean pasta board.  (I peeled the potatoes, cut them into large chunks and boiled them until soft.  I drained them and put them through a ricer.)  Place the chopped peppers in a towel and wring to extract as much liquid as possible.

Make a well in the center of the potatoes and sprinkle all over with the flour, using all the flour (Have no fear, I needed about ½ cup more than this.)  Place the egg, salt and pepper in the center of the well, and using a fork, stir into the flour and potatoes, just like making pasta.  Once the egg and roasted peppers are mixed in, bring the dough together, kneading gently until ball is formed,  Knead gently another 4 minutes until the ball is dry to the touch. (This is where that extra flour came in)

Bring 6 quarts of water to a boil and add about 2 Tbls. of salt.

Divide the dough into 4 balls.  Flour the board and roll each ball into a 1-inch thick rope.  Cut the rope into 1-inch long pieces and let the pieces dry slightly before shaping.  Roll pieces down the tines of a fork to establish the classic shape.  Drop gnocchi, 10-15 at a time, into boiling water and cook until they float to the surface.

I then tossed some with a tomato sauce and some in butter – they were both great!

 

January 10, 2008 - Posted by | Pasta, Presto Pasta Night

5 Comments »

  1. Holy Batman is right! Great looking dish and great new look to the blog. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

    Comment by Ruth | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Looks good! I’ve been thinking about trying to make gnocchi. I’ll definitely be trying out this recipe.

    Comment by Psychgrad | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sorry – just realized my last post was entered under my private blog. I’ve switched my website on this comment so that clicking on my name will access my public food blog.

    Comment by Psychgrad | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yum! This looks like a great addition to my meal plans. I’ve never made gnocchi, but it is on my list of things to try, and I love roasted red peppers. Thanks for sharing this.

    Comment by Michelle | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  5. Miguel: That looked spectacular; perhaps next time you might want to try gnocchi di pane, popular in the Friuli and Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol regions. It is made from bread crumbs. Keep cooking Chef Mike! Regards, Hodus.

    Comment by Hodus | January 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

