Mel’s Diner

Sharp Knives, Raw Meat and Fire

GRILLED/TOASTED CHEESE SANDWICHES

I’m back.  Maybe the two most common words on Mel’s Diner, but…well, whatever…  I’ve had great plans to post…I’ve even said to myself, “Dude!  You need to post!…Gosh!”  And still, I didn’t.  Mostly it’s because I got out of the habit of posting.  Hence, Mikey has a crappy blog.

So, I’m back.  I didn’t quite know what to post about, so I thought I’d have a snack while I thought about it.  My snack?  A Grilled Cheese Sandwich.  Here, in New England, a Toasted Cheese Sandwich.  Here, in the Mulholland house, A Toasted Cheese Sandwich also has thin, sliced green peppers.  Many (OK, few) of you will remember this sandwich is the single dish that introduced me to a fun and, now pregnant, girl in Canada we all know as Sara from iliketocook.  I’d link back to that blog post, but it’s one of the many lost on Clearblogs.

What’s in a Toasted Cheese Sandwich?  Well, it’s two slices of white bread, a Wonder-type, bread, buttered.  Two slices of American Cheese, the plastic-wrapped type and a few slices of Green Bell Pepper - the salad-type.  Layer bread, cheese, pepper, cheese and bread.  Butter both outside end’s of the bread.  Fry in a pan, flip and fry the other side.  No magic.  That’s it.

grilledcheese 

Oh, it’s good!  Really, really good.

August 24, 2009 - Posted by | Main Dish

2 Comments »

  1. ah, the sandwich that brought us together…

    Comment by Sara | August 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Your site is awesome Mike :)

    Comment by Laura Bye | September 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

